9 December 2011

Happy Particles - Under Sleeping Waves

Artist: Happy Particles
Album: Under Sleeping Waves
Genre: Post-rock, Shoegaze
Label: Unsigned
Year: 2011
From : Glasgow

01. Aerials
02. Infinite Jet
03. Slowness
04. Guide Dogs Of The Inner Cities
05. Offline Contact
06. Reprise
07. Come Home All Dead Ones
08. Empty Circle
09. Classes In Silence (for Jess)
10. AM Sky (Bleary)

This lovely debut from Glasgow slow-core melodists Happy Particles may be sneaking out as a self-release on December 25, but don’t be misled by their low-key approach: the ambient vistas conjured therein could rival those of Sigur Rós.

Much of this is down to Steven Kane’s ethereal voice, but when your band shares stellar personnel with Remember Remember (Kane, Graeme Ronald and James Swinburne play in both outfits) then there’s a fair bet that epic, virtuosic melodies will unfurl – and so they do.

‘Slowness’ is awash with chamber post-rock – the strings throughout the album are gorgeous – while the slow-release splendour of ‘Empty Circle’ starts off like the Blue Nile and ends up in the stars, and you hope Happy Particles follow suit .

You can preview their 2 tracks at bandcamp.


No comments:

Post a Comment