21 June 2012

TOE - The Future Is Now EP

Artist: TOE
Album: The Future Is Now EP
Genre: Math-rock, Post-rock, Instrumental
Label: Machupicchu Industrias (World), White Noise Records (Asia)
Year: 2012
From : Japan

01. Run For Word
02. 月、欠け feat.ACO
03. Ordinary Days
04. The Future Is Now

toe is a Japanese music group. While mentioned in many post-rock circles, their song structure and dynamics are similar to many popular math rock artists.
toe is composed of Kashikura Takashi on drums, Mino Takaaki on guitar, Yamane Satoshi on bass guitar, and Yamazaki Hirokazu on guitar. Toe has formally played with this line-up since the band’s inception in 2000. They are currently one of three bands on the indie label Machu Picchu, along with the band mouse on the keys and Enemies.

The vast majority of the music is instrumental and features the swift and acute drumming of Takashi. The band is also known for its melodic, clean guitar settings. Additionally, the compositions have repetition from typical rock motifs, but use very subtle changes in beat and rhythm to form a unique sound. The band has changed their sound over their musical tenure by incorporating acoustic guitars, rhodes piano, and vibraphones in their most recent releases.

iTunes | Facebook | OfficialSite

No comments:

Post a Comment