6 June 2012

Múm - Early Birds

Artist: Múm
Album: Early Birds
Genre: Electronic, Experimental
Label: Morr Music
Year: 2012
From : Iceland

01. Bak þitt Er Sem Rennibraut
02. Póst Póstmaður
03. Gingúrt
04. Glerbrot (Previously Lost)
05. Hvernig Á Að Særa Vini Sína (Previously Unreleased)
06. Bak þitt Er Sem Rennibraut (Bústadavegurer Fáviti Megamix Eftir Músíkvat)
07. Insert Coin (Bjarne Riis Arcade Game Mjiks Eftir Múm)
08. Loksins Erum Við Engin (Natturuoperan Song)
09. Náttúrúbúrú
10. 0,000Orð
11. Lalalala Blái Hnötturinn
12. Múm Spilar La La La
13. Hufeland
14. Volkspark Friedrichshain (Previously Forgotten)
15. Enginn Vildi Hlusta Á Fiðlunginn, því Strengir Hans Vóru Slitnir (Getiði Ekki Verið Góð Við Nömmu Okkar)

múm are an Icelandic pop band with euphonic, yet tumultuous leanings, mixing sound with music and vice versa. The group has taken many forms and shapes since it started in 1997 and rarely cease to surprise and confuse.

Early Birds ends with a contemplative piece that’s 10 minutes long and comprised of field recordings, harmonica, accordion, and lots of room for reverb (you could almost call it Dub). In this case the song title pretty much translates to “No one was listening to the fiddler, because the fiddle-strings were broken (why can’t you be good to your mother?)”. This final track ultimately became the “Ballad Of The Broken String” on múm’s debut album “Yesterday Was Dramatic – Today Is OK” (2001), though this early version is indeed quite different. When the debut dropped, múm had found their sound. The rest is history: The band was hailed as a key exponent of “Electronica”, and with every release they sounded more and more unique and complete – only to become what might be Iceland’s most original band today. Early Birds showcases the formative years and perfectly illustrates this evolution, though at the same time it shows that things could’ve turned out quite differently. Plus, it also proves one other thing: Yesterday was OK, too. The compilation album comes with nostalgic artwork by Ingibjörg Birgisdóttir who experienced the early days of múm first hand. Both the LP and CD version include a booklet that explains how each of the 15 (mostly instrumental) tracks came about.

iTunes | Facebook | | OfficialSite

No comments:

Post a Comment