7 March 2013

Ólafur Arnalds – For Now I Am Winter

Artist: Ólafur Arnalds
Album: For Now I Am Winter
Genre: Neo-classical, Shoegaze
Label: Erased Tapes Records
Year: 2013
From : Reykjavík, Iceland

01. Sudden Throw (3:17)
02. Brim (4:43)
03. For Now I Am Winter (5:05)
04. A Stutter (5:09)
05. Words Of Amber (3:23)
06. Reclaim (4:01)
07. Hands, Be Still (3:40)
08. Only The Winds (5:21)
09. Old Skin (4:09)
10. We (Too) Shall Rest (2:06)
11. This Place Was A Shelter (3:50)
12. Carry Me Anew (3:25)
13. No. Other (feat. Arnor Dan) (Bonus Track) (4:18)

Born in 1986, Ólafur hails from the suburban Icelandic town of Mosfellsbær, just a few kilometres outside of Reykjavík. He has immersed himself completely in a world of delicate symphonic compositions generating near weightless orchestral pieces. Arnalds explores the crossover from classical to pop by mixing chamber strings and piano with discreet electronics which makes him a perfect fit for cinematic music label Erased Tapes. His motivations are clear: 'The classical scene is kind of closed to people who haven't been studying music all their lives. I would like to bring my classical influence to the people who don't usually listen to this kind of music…open people's minds.

OfficialSite | iTunes |

No comments:

Post a Comment